Second Chance

Dewey Webb Mysteries Short Story

Dewey Webb appears in his first short story!

Bartender Jerry Manco worries that his son Angelo is up to no good – not for the first time – and he asks for Denver private investigator Dewey Webb’s help. Dewey follows a series of leads and finds that Angelo’s embroiled in a dangerous situation, and Dewey will have to use all his skills to save him.

Note: This is a 10,000-word short in the Dewey Webb historical mystery series. It is set after Secrets and Lies in the timeline.

A hard-boiled, historical mystery short story that's great for fans who love a traditional detective crime story with a noir flavor, but without a lot of sex or swearing.

Dewey Webb first appeared in the Reed Ferguson mystery, Back Story. Pick up a copy of Back Story to find out more about this classic hard-boiled detective.

The Dewey Webb historical mystery series:

• Book 1: Web of Deceit
• Book 2: Murder In Fashion
• Book 3: Secrets and Lies
• Book 4: Honor Among Thieves
• Book 5: Trouble Finds Her
• short story: Second Chance
• short story: Double Cross

Great Reviews for the Reed Ferguson private investigator series:

Kirkus Reviews:
The promising kickoff to Pawlish's comic mystery series, starring far-from-perfect PI Reed Ferguson. Pawlish earns high marks for plot construction, with twists and turns naturally unfolding as Ferguson, inexperienced but not incapable, feels his way through the case. A good-humored mystery series worth following.

5 star review:
Oh how I’ve missed the Sam Spade and Philip Marlowe characters that saw me with a flashlight in the dead of night flipping pages to see what happened next. Thank you Ms. Pawlish for bringing back to life this long-lost art of the detective battling against all odds and getting to the bottom of things.
– Maureen with zencherry book reviews

The Reed Ferguson mystery series:

• Book 1: This Doesn't Happen In The Movies
• Book 2: Reel Estate Rip-off
• Book 3: The Maltese Felon
• Book 4: Farewell, My Deuce
• Book 5: Out Of The Past
• Book 6: Torch Scene
• Book 7: The Lady Who Sang High
• Book 8: Sweet Smell Of Sucrets
• Book 9: The Third Fan
• Book 10: Back Story
• Book 11: Night of the Hunted
• Book 12: The Postman Always Brings Dice
• Book 13: Road Blocked
• Book 14: Small Town Focus
• Book 15: Nightmare Sally
• Book 16: The Damned Don't Die
• Book 17: Double Iniquity
• Novella: Ace in the Hole
• Novella: Walk Softly, Danger
• short story: Elvis And The Sports Card Cheat
• short story: A Gun For Hire
• short story: Cool Alibi
• short story: The Big Steal
• short story: The Wrong Woman

Private Investigator Mystery Series Categories:

– Mystery Series
– Private Investigator Series
– Crime Fiction
– Crime Series
– Private Detective Novels
– historical mystery, thriller & suspense fiction
– pulp
– hard-boiled
– noir
– detective
– private eye
– traditional
– historical mysteries
– short stories

Where should I send them?

Join the investigation when you sign up for my readers list to stay up-to-date on sales, free books, new releases, and giveaways. As a welcome gift, you'll receive the first book in both my Reed Ferguson and Dewey Webb mystery series!

Thank you! Please check your email for the free goodies.